Pen + Brush is Incorporated

Under the presidency of accomplished writer and suffragist Grace Seton, the Pen and Brush became – eight years before women were granted the right to vote – an established legal corporation: The Pen and Brush, Inc. The organization continued to flourish under the 30-year presidency of investigative journalist and writer Ida Tarbell. Members included Pulitzer Prize-winning authors Marianne Moore, Margaret Widdemer, and Pearl S. Buck, who also received the Nobel Prize in Literature; and renowned visual artists Isabel Whitney, Malvina Hoffman, Clara Sipprell, and Jessie Tarbox Beals.